

(http://www.houstontx.gov)

Menu

Q



좂 (http://www.houstontx.gov) > Mayor's Office (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor) > Press Releases

(http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/press)

MAYOR'S OFFICE PRESS RELEASE

Mayor Turner Names Transition Team

January 22, 2016 -- A nine-member executive committee and 26 committee chairs and co-chairs have been selected to lead Mayor Sylvester Turner's transition team. The team, which is already hard at work, will develop policy recommendations for the mayor on comprehensive financial reform, infrastructure, public safety, traffic and transportation, quality of life issues, economic opportunity and economic development.

"There are challenges ahead for Houston, particularly in the area of finances," said Mayor Turner. "These Houstonians are graciously volunteering their time, effort and expertise to develop the blueprint that will help guide my administration on this subject and many more. Their advice and counsel will be invaluable as we move Houston forward toward that better tomorrow I promised in my inaugural address."

The Transition Team Executive Committee is chaired by Flagship Capital Partners Chief Executive Officer David Mincberg. His co-chairs are:

Debra Tsuchiyama Baker - Attorney at Baker, Wotring LLP

Bill Baldwin - Owner, Boulevard Realty

Stephen Costello - Former Houston City Council Member

Maya Ford - Principal, FordMomentum

Ginny Goldman - Executive Director, Texas Organizing Project

Paul Puente - Executive Secretary, Houston Gulf Coast Building and Construction Trades Council

Bobby Singh - Director, Isani Group, LLC

Armando Walle - State Representative, Houston District 140

Gerald Womack - Owner, Womack Development and Investment Realtors

The following is a list of the 13 Transition Committees and their chairs and co-chairs:

Comprehensive Financial Reform Committee - Chair Neil Thomas and Co-Chair Katy Caldwell

Rebuild Houston - Co-Chairs David Collins and Santiago Castaneda

Public Works Committee - Chair Wayne Klotz and Co-Chair Tony Council

Public Safety Committee - Co-Chairs Brad Bradford and Johnny Villarreal

Houston Airport System Committee - Chair Danny Perkins and Co-Chair Claudia Williamson

Quality of Life Committee - Co-Chairs Nancy Kinder and Bill Baldwin

Economic Opportunity Committee- Chair Ginny Goldman and Co-Chair Judson Robinson

TIRZ - Chair Denis Braham and Co-Chair Marvalette Hunter

Traffic and Transportation Committee - Chair Ramesh Gunda and Co-Chair Kendall Miller

Criminal Justice System Committee - Chair Sandra Guerra-Thompson and Co-Chair Deric Muhammad Public Health Committee - Chair Maya Ford and Co-Chair Marlen Trujillo Housing Committee - Chair Assata Richards and Co-Chair Ken Valach Education Committee - Chair Susie Molina and Co-Chair Erica Lee

Royce Brooks is serving as policy advisor to the transition team and Kathryn McNiel from the Downtown Theater District Houston is an advisor.

MAYOR'S OFFICE LINKS

Mayor's Home Page (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor)

Audio Press Conference Archive (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/audiopressarchive.html)

Biography of the Mayor (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/bio.html)

Ceremonial Documents (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/ceremonialdocs.html)

Divisions and Directors (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/divisionsanddirectors.html)

Fiscal Responsibility (http://www.houstontx.gov/finance/fiscal_responsibility.html)

Map to City Hall (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/map.html)

Mayoral History (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/history.html)

Photo Galleries (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/gallery)

Press Releases (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/press)

Speeches Archive (http://www.houstontx.gov/mayor/speeches.html)

Home (http://www.houstontx.gov) 311 Help & Info (http://www.houston311.org) Contact Us (http://www.houstontx.gov/contactus/) FAQs (http://www.houstontx.gov/faq/) Privacy Policy (http://www.houstontx.gov/privacy.html) CitizensNet (http://www.houstontx.gov/citizensnet)

© 2016. All rights reserved. City of Houston